What is the starting salary for your department?
As of Sept 2020, The starting salary for uncertified Ohio County Deputies is $43,160. West Virginia Certified Deputy/Officer start at $46,176.
How much vacation/sick time is earned?
Probationary officers receive 1 1/4 vacation days and 1 1/2 sick days each month. Deputies also receive Holiday time.
Does your department have health insurance?
Employees of the Ohio County Commission receive full medical insurance through Highmark BC/BS; and Eye and Dental insurance through Guardian.
Is there an age requirement for Deputy Sheriffs?
Applications are accepted from persons 18 to 45 years of age. There is a mandatory retirement at the age of 65
What training or schooling do I need to apply?
As with anything, the more job specific training you have the better. We do not require any training or college degrees. We only require a High School Diploma or equivalent. After being hired, you will be attend the West Virginia State Police Academy to complete the Basic Officer Training Program. This consists of classroom hours, as well as Firearms training, Defensive driving, and other related subjects. The academy is approximately 15 weeks long, depending on holidays. You will be required to stay on Academy grounds during the week, and return home for the weekend. All travel, personal, and schooling expenses are paid for by the department.
Do I have to live in WV to take the test?
The Ohio County Sheriff's Office requires all Deputies to be residents of WV, but you will not need to live in West Virginia until after you have been hired.
Is the fitness test given the same day as the written test?
NO, There will be a physical agility test given to all applicants who pass the written test. If you pass the written test, you will be notified with the details of the physical agility test. Click here for physical fitness requirements.
Do I receive extra test points for my Military Service?
If you are active Military, Reserve, or National Guard; or have been Honorably Discharged, you will receive 5 additional points. However, we must receive a copy of your DD214 or ID Card, before you test.
Do I receive extra test points for being a WV Certified LEO?
If you are a Certified West Virginia Law Enforcement Officer, you will receive 5 additional points. However, we must receive a copy of your Academy Certificate, before you test.
Does your Department have take-home cruisers?
Yes. Members who have completed the Academy and have completed their probationary period are issued a cruiser.